Text size-AA+

Sundhage named FIFA Women's Coach of the Year

Monday 7 January 2013 20.11 CET
Pia Sundhage received the award from Luiz Felipe Scolari

Sweden's Pia Sundhage has been named FIFA Women's Coach of the Year 2012 with Abby Wambach taking the FIFA Women's Player of the Year accolade.

Sundhage, who returned to take charge of her native Sweden this autumn after winning a second straight Olympic gold at the United States helm, finished ahead of France coach Bruno Bini and last year's winner Norio Sasaki of Japan at the FIFA Ballon d'Or gala in Zurich. Her next task is to lead hosts Sweden into this summer's UEFA Women's EURO finals. 

The player award went to United States forward Wambach, key to their second straight Olympic gold victory under Sundhage. The 32-year-old, heading a shortlist also containing team-mate Alex Morgan and Brazil forward Marta, is the first American to claim the award since Mia Hamm took the first two such prizes in 2001 and 2002.

© 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.