Text size-AA+

Ibrahimović claims top prize in Sweden

Tuesday 13 November 2012 10.43 CET
Zlatan Ibrahimović picked up three awards, including the main prize

Paris Saint-Germain FC forward Zlatan Ibrahimović has been named Swedish player of the year, with Lotta Schelin picking up the women's award at a ceremony in Stockholm.

Sweden captain Ibrahimović had already scooped the best forward and best goal prizes before being named as Sweden's finest for the sixth successive season. "It's proof I have had a good year and that I keep developing as a player," he said. "I hope to stand here and say the same thing again next year."

Schelin, who won the UEFA Women's Champions League with Olympique Lyonnais in May, was also elated. "I am incredibly proud and happy," she said, before outlining her plans for the next 12 months. "The EUROs on home turf, 50,000 in the stands and us winning the gold."

There was also a lifetime achievement award presented by Peter Schmeichel to Fredrik Ljungberg, the former Halmstads BK, Arsenal FC, West Ham United FC and Celtic FC midfielder who won 75 caps in a ten-year international career.

Men's awards
Goalkeeper: Andreas Isaksson (Kasımpaşa SK)
Defender: Olof Mellberg (Olympiacos FC)
Midfielder: Kim Källström (FC Spartak Moskva)
Forward: Zlatan Ibrahimović (Paris Saint-Germain FC)
Newcomer: Oscar Lewicki (BK Häcken)
Goal: Ibrahimović for Sweden v France, 19/06/2012

Women's awards
Goalkeeper: Thóra Helgadóttir (FC Malmö)
Defender: Emma Berglund (Umeå IK)
Midfielder: Verónica Boquete (Tyresö FF)
Forward: Anja Mittag (FC Malmö)
Newcomer: Elin Rubensson (FC Malmö)

© 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.